Sunflower Stamp

Halloween Cards 009

“The farther we get away from the land, the greater our insecurity.”

-Henry Ford

Good day from Stamping Peace!  Hope you had a wonderful week-end.  We finished harvesting our vegetable garden, cut our sunflowers and all the flower gardens, and enjoyed the warmth of home life.   Saturday morning we were up early to start the wood stove (still haven’t used the furnace!), make some chex mix for snacking on throughout the day, and get the beans baking in the oven before our good friend Mimi came over at 8:00 a.m. to walk her dog Moxie with me and Teddy.  After all that cold fresh air,  I made a hearty soup and put it on to simmer for lunch and then I had the rest of the day to stamp!  I made some beautiful projects and I can’t wait to share them all with you.   Today, however, I want to share a card that I made earlier this fall with Stampin’ Up’s!  giant Sunflower Stamp.  This is a special card because I made it for my son Jonathan’s birthday.  Jonathan, as most of you know, owns a landscaping company called Summersweet Landscaping.  I found a story in Organic Gardening about four young horticulturists like Jonathan, and I stamped the sunflower right onto the magazine article!  Don’t you just love it when things come together like that?  : )

Halloween Cards 006

Papers:  Soft Suede, Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla    Ink:  Crumb Cake  Embellishments:  Linen Twine and Glitter Brads

Card size is 5″ square.    Stamp Sets:  Sunflower (front) and Gorgeous Grunge and Teeny Tiny Wishes (inside).

Speaking of sunflowers, if you have young children or grandchildren, have you seen the book “The Sunflower Parable” by Liz Curtis Higgs?  My boys enjoyed that book very much when they were growing up, and her book “The Pumpkin Patch Parable” even more.  : )

I’m off to the stampuary, but before leaving I want to remind you that we have just three more days for blog comments to be entered into an All Hallow’s Eve drawing for blog candy.  I always love to hear from you and I always try to reply.

Until I hear from you, Happy Stamping!

Dawn

4 thoughts on “Sunflower Stamp

  1. Good Morning Dawn,
    I see you are an early riser like myself. This card is so nice and I love how it came together. I bet that would work with a recipe and the Mason Jar stamps. Ha. Ha. I hope to finish up my work early this morning and finish some thank you cards so I can get them out. Thanks a bunch for sharing. 🙂

  2. Oh, two heads are better than one! I love your recipe card/mason jar stamp idea Nancy. I might have to try that. : )
    My husband is the early riser, but he doesn’t let the rest of sleep in. Guess he can’t get enough of us! (although he may disagree with that.) : )
    Have a great day and have fun stamping!
    Peace, Dawn

  3. What a nice gift for your son and I bet he will treasure it. I love sunflowers, they are such happy flowers! I’ve had a chance to go back and read your blog. I don’t remember how I got here but it must have been a link. My most favorite thing, after your great cards, is the fact that you mention so many books in your family. I am a great reader and always read to my sons and grandchildren. Also love the quotes. So happy to have found your blog.

  4. Hi Brenda. So glad you did find the blog. It’s so heartwarming to meet and share with other stampers. I’ve never blogged before, so I am learning as I go, but so far it’s been a lot of fun! I’m so appreciative of all the people that blog and give me inspiration and ideas, so I’m glad I can “pay it forward” in a small way.

Leave a Reply

