Gift Wrap & Blog Candy Winner!

Wrapping paper 003

“We turn not older with years but newer every day.”

-Emily Dickinson

Welcome to Stamping Peace.  Before we get to our blog candy winner, here’s a little eye candy for you.  I made this gift wrap with Stampin’ Up!’s Flowering Flourishes stamp set and used all three stamps in the set.  I used computer paper and had to use extra early espresso ink  because the paper really soaks up the ink.  I sponged pool party ink on the white to tone it down, added little punched out cherry cobbler and pool party flowers (made with the Boho Blossoms Punch), and embellished them with pearls.  The cherry cobbler ribbon is from the Holiday 2013 catalog.  These gifts are the new Stamp A Tag kits and will introduce some of my nieces to stamping on their upcoming birthdays.

Speaking of gifts, please meet one of the greatest gifts that I have had in my life, my grandmother “Nanny Gosselin”, who passed Wednesday morning at the age of 98.  She is being buried today on All Saints Day.  How appropriate!  I was the first of seventeen grandchildren and was able to spend many week-ends and two weeks every summer helping her on her little farm.  She taught me the “old ways” and taught me many home arts…knitting mittens, sewing by hand, how to can vegetables and to make jam, how to bake bread … she was a big influence in my life.  Rest in peace Nanny.  xoxo

JOTA 2013 Camp Roosevelt 002

And now, another gift…a little treat for our “blog candy” winner.  The muslin bag is from the holiday catalog and is stamped with the “Halloween Hello” set.  It’s hard to see in the photo, but it is spritzed with black ink from the refill bottles, which is one of the treats in the blog candy bag, except instead of black, it is a pumpkin pie refill.  Also included in the “blog candy” gift is a Halloween Banner Simply Created Accessory Kit.  This can be used to embellish a banner, or the pieces and parts can be used to embellish cards.  Hope the winner enjoys it, along with all the yummies in the bag!  : )

Blog Candy 002

And the winner is….  this is exciting… I’m drawing the name now….

 Sue H.!!!   Congratulations Sue!

Sue is a Stamping Peace Blog Follower and also a Stamping Peace Wednesday Night Stamper.   I hope you enjoy your “Blog Candy” Sue!   I’ll drop it off to you tomorrow afternoon.   : )

Thank you to everyone who have been chatting with me here at Stamping Peace… new friends Nancy and Judy in New York, Brenda in Indiana, Kathy in California, downline Beth, Terry and Pat, friends Lorraine, Sue M. and Kelly, those that I have forgotten in the excitement of the moment  : )   and all that comment directly on the FaceBook and Linked In posts.  Thanks too, to all who visit but don’t comment.

I’m liking this blog candy.  I think we’ll do it again and draw the winner on Thanksgiving.  Surprises are so much fun!

Have a great stamping week-end!

Dawn

6 thoughts on “Gift Wrap & Blog Candy Winner!

  1. Wow, your wrapping paper is so cool. I’ve seen it stamped before but not all over like this. It’s gorgeous. Congratulations to Sue. What a fun giveaway. I know she’ll enjoy it. I’m so glad you have those wonderful memories of your grandmother and she will live on in your heart.

    • Hi Brenda. I was SO pleased with how the wrapping paper turned out. I think the ribbon really “pops” it.
      Thanks for your kind words about my grandmother. She was an amazing woman and will live on in the hearts of all her family (three of six children that are still alive…three have died of cancer, including my mom : ( 16 grandchildren, 36 great grandchildren and 3 great grandchildren! : )

  2. Dawn, so sorry about your sweet grandmother. Mine was so dear to me also. In spite of having “only” eight grandchildren, she made each of us feel as though we were her special favorite.
    Love your gift wrap. If I wanted to make a larger piece, what sort of paper would you suggest?

  3. Hi Kathy. Thank you so much for your kind words. Today at the end of the service at the funeral home (it was just for family because the family is so large…my grandmother had 6 children, 17 grandchildren, 36 great grandchildren and 3 great great grandchildren) one of my cousins was saying exactly what you said about everyone being her favorite. At the very end my aunt called on my dad to speak (my grandmothers son-in-law) and he said “well she never said I was the favorite.” It was so amusing and really lightened everyone’s spirits! : )
    I would look for a roll of plain white wrapping paper to stamp on. Usually that wrapping paper has some gloss to it so you’d have to be careful of smudging.
    Have a great week-end!

Leave a Reply

