Merry Monday Challenge 3

Gingee Card 010

“Think what a better world it would be if we all, the whole world, had cookies and milk about 3:00 every afternoon and then lay down on our blankets for a nap.”

~Barbara Jordan

This weeks challenge asks us to “use the colors Red, Vanilla, Kraft and Chocolate with Ribbon on your Christmas Card.”  The guest designers cards are beautiful…hop on over to http://merrymondaychristmaschallenge.blogspot.ca to have a look!

When I opened up my box of Christmas stamps,  Mr. Gingee popped out at me for some reason.  So I got out my Gingerbread Cookie Recipe and sponged it with Crumb Cake Ink although it is very yellowed after thirty years of use in my Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook.  The cookbook cover has fallen off, but we love all the tried and true recipes.  On the card, the recipe is popped up on dimensionals so that it can be detached…a double duty Christmas card!  The inside will read “Have a sweet Christmas season.”  : )

All the snowman cards from last week’s challenge were so cute.  Our card received an Honorable Mention (one of the top ten out of 62 entries.)  Thank you Merry Monday judges!

1406a-honorablemention

25 thoughts on “Merry Monday Challenge 3

  1. Congratulations on your Honorable Mention for last week’s card. It is adorable! I LOVE this idea. That’s the same recipe I’ve used forever and I think I’ll make some copies and CASE this card. Thanks for the inspiration, Dawn, and for sharing with us at Merry Monday!

  2. Congratulations on your Honorable Mention, is that two weeks in a row?!!! Love the idea of the detachable recipe. And now with this picture we all have it!! P.S. Will email you with up date soon.

    • Thanks Beth. Yes, that was two weeks in a row, As one of my Boy Scouts says, “had to take the pedal off the gas this week!” : ) This was my mom’s cookie recipe, which she passed to me with the cookbook that she gave us for a wedding shower gift thirty years ago. Love to cook her recipes to remember her by. : ) I’ll look forward to hearing an update.

  3. Marvelous idea! I usually send gingerbread themed cards to my students when we read all our gingerbread books in December & now I[m thinking I may have to lift your idea for my 2014 gingerbread cards! Thanks for the inspiration!!! 🙂

  4. This card has to be the cutest, Dawn! Of course anything gingerbread will grab my attention real quick! Love that you put your tried & true recipe on this! Love all the different embossing folders you used and that sweet little gingerbread guy! Melts my heart! Thanks for playing along with us this week over at Merry Mondays! 🙂

Leave a Reply

