Tulips!

Tulips Card 001

“Prayer begets faith, faith begets love and love begets service.”

~Mother Teresa

Good Morning from Stamping Peace.  Today’s card belies the fact that last night we had our fourth snowstorm in six days!  It’s a modification of a Katy McGloin design and lends such an air of promise of spring and new life.  It’s meant to be a get well card for a relative over in Holland…tulips, Holland…what a match!  It’s actually the new Stampin’ Up!  Easter stamp, but I masked the Easter sentiment, meaning I covered it with masking tape, inked up the stamp, removed the masking tape and stamped.  I colored the tulips with yellow, orange and pink colored pencils, and used a blender pen to mix the colors.  The butterfly was added to cover up a smudge, and the candy dot was added because I masked the “I’m” on the praying for you and accidentally covered up the dot on the “i” !   All the products used are Stampin’ Up! except the ribbon.

Thank you for the e-mails and phone calls about my Aunt Maggie yesterday.  She passed at 4:20 this morning.  : (   Such a beautiful person, inside and out, always giving service to our family.  When I was 15, I called her to take me for my driving test.  My mom didn’t drive and my dad made me too nervous (and vice versa)  She took me, and I passed!  She was always there for us. Rest in peace Aunt Maggie.  Love, “Dawnie Ree” (that’s what she called me)  : )

8 thoughts on “Tulips!

  1. Mother Dawn – I’m so sorry to hear about your Aunt Maggie. The two times that I “crafted” with her at your house were such fun times, because she was one of the fun gals.

    Hugs to you.

    Sue

    • Thanks Sue. She loved to craft. She used to come to our house growing up and she and my mom did paint by number, made angels out of Readers Digest Books, made wreaths from dry cleaning bags, etc….. we’ve had a lot of laughs over those early projects. The reunion of the two of them in heaven makes me laugh!

  2. Love the bow. How bright and cherry. Tulips look beautiful too. I like how you are so honest and explained that you had a few artistically challenging moments and fixed them unbelievably. Great Job. This card will certainly make anyone feel better. Prayers for you and your family. 🙂

  3. Oh Dawn, I’m so sorry about your aunt Maggie. It sounds like you have wonderful memories of her. This card is awesome. I love everything about it, the stamp, the colors, the ribbon and even the corrections! Great job. Our snow is melting and now we have flooding with a chance of a tornado later today!

Leave a Reply

