Seeing Fireworks!

Petals on Parade 016

“It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.”

~Henry David Thoreau

When I look at this card, I see fireworks!  Probably because that is how life feels right now since our son Jonathan’s Summersweet Landscaping business was awarded “First Place, Best of Show” in the Bangor Garden Show this week-end, along with the “Best Hardscape” award.  We are just so proud of him and so happy for him.  The Garden Show was a huge success, with over 13,000 people in attendance.  Gardeners, just like stampers, are such warm and friendly people…it was a wonderful week-end.  I posted a few pictures of Jonathan’s display in the past few days, but here is another view.  : )

Petals on Parade 015Bangor Garden Show 007Bangor Garden Show 008

This was an outdoor kitchen in another exhibitor’s display.  As my friend Lorraine said, “wouldn’t it be great to be able to do our canning outdoors!”  I think that is going on my wish list!  : )

Back to today’s card, made with the Petals On Parade and Bring on the Cake stamp sets…it goes out to my little niece, Hope, who is a stamper like her Auntie Dawn.  Happy Birthday Hope!  Love, Auntie Dawn

2 thoughts on “Seeing Fireworks!

  1. Hi Dawn,
    I know how proud and excited you are by the wonderful awards that Jonathan received. The photos are great, and I sure wish I could be there in person to see every last detail, but a cross-country trip isn’t possible right now. Your mention of having an outdoor kitchen reminded me of my grandparents, who did have a gas stove on their patio which my grandfather built (and this was in the 1940s!) where they’d prepare their blackberry, red raspberry, peach and apricot preserves. I know I’m dating myself but I can still remember the wonderful smells each summer.
    Thanks for the peek at the beautiful garden.

  2. Thank you Kathy! If you ever come cross-country, you’ll have to come visit Jonathan’s gardens! He’s going to replicate the exhibit in his backyard. After he won, the stone company that loaned him all the stone for the show (Granville Stone), told him he could keep all the stone! I’m really liking the idea of canning outside…preserves, dilly beans, pickles……mmmm! : )

Leave a Reply

