Stampin’ Up! The Great Outdoors Ant Card

Great OutdoorsIII 005

“Relationships create the fabric of our lives.  They are the fibers that weave all things together.”

~Eden Froust

When I was trying to think of how to use the little ant stamp from “The Great Outdoors” stamp set, I knew I needed some paper that looked like a tablecloth.  I wished I had the new Farmers Market Designer Series Paper, but it’s still on my wish list!  I did find this old DSP, which is perfect.  We have two blue checked tablecloths that we’ve been using since 1984 when I bought the fabric while my husband and I were living in Los Angeles for a year, so this paper is nostalgic!  I made the cards on the left and on the right and notice the card on the right has rounded corners…a tiny detail that makes a big difference.  (I use the corner punch on the envelope punch board vs. the corner rounder punch…I think it makes a nicer cut.)  After I finished the two “clean and simple” cards, a friend suggested that I make one with the ants going diagonally from corner to corner.  I said I’d try it because I needed three cards to invite my nieces who live locally to a “Niece Night”.  My friend suggested the ants walk in a crooked line, but one year we were in Hawaii on vacation and every afternoon at the same time, an army of ants would come in the window on one side of the cabin and walk in a straight line up the wall, across the ceiling, down the opposite wall and out that window.  It was the most fascinating thing.  So, no, the ants couldn’t walk in a crooked line!  A little piece of ribbon embellishes the cards and they are ready to be delivered. : )

8 thoughts on “Stampin’ Up! The Great Outdoors Ant Card

  1. Dawn, I think this card came out perfect! Love the oil-cloth, checkered table cloth! I’ve never seen ants looking so cute.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

