Freshly Made Sketch Card

Freshly Made Sketch II 002

“If we can dream it, we can achieve it.”

~William Arthur Ward

I have read on other blogs where the stamper “saw the design in their head” before making a card.  Well, that finally happened for me yesterday when I saw the new Freshly Made Sketch at http://www.freshlymadesketches.blogspot.com   This whole card just popped into my head (except for a sentiment, which I had to search for)…now that was exciting!  The lobster and the background stamps on the tags are from the “By the Tide” stamp set.  The sentiment on the front and the one inside that says “You’re my best mate” are from a retired set called “Hello, Sailor.”  The line of “rope” across the top of the card is a stamp from “Butterfly Basics.”  The cardstock and ink colors are Real Red, Crumb Cake and Lost Lagoon.  I had run out of Linen Thread so I used some threads out of the 1 1/4″ Burlap Ribbon.  This was such a fun challenge and a great card, especially for us “Mainers” who live in lobster territory! : )  Which card do you like better, the one above with the reinforcement rings, or the one below, without them?  To make the reinforcement rings, punch a hole with a hole punch and then use the smallest circle from the Circle Dies to cut out a ring around the hole that you have punched. (Thank you to my friend Mimi for those reinforcement ring instructions.)  : )

Freshly Made Sketch Cards 001

10 thoughts on “Freshly Made Sketch Card

  1. Good Morning Dawn, I like the reinforced ring version. Just looks a little more colorful in that area to me. I love the burlap and the ribbon.
    🙂

  2. Thanks, Nancy. That is the version I ended up entering in the Freshly Made Sketches challenge this morning. They ask for “clean and simple” cards, so I was indecisive as to which card to enter. It is such a fun challenge!

  3. Great use of the sketch – the lobster is just perfect on the top panel – and the burlap ribbon topped with Lost Lagoon is a great accent. Thank you for playing along with us at Freshly Made Sketches.

  4. Isn’t it wonderful when a card design pops into our heads and the finished result lives up to expectations? This is a fabulous card – love that lobster! Thanks so much for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches.

    • Thank you Karren. Yes, that’s the first time that has happened to me and it was fun! 🙂 I’m enjoying playing with your sketches…thank you for your part in making them happen.

Leave a Reply

