What Style Is This?

Stone SparrowHomeSchoolUMO 011

“Peace is God’s dream, his plan for humanity, for history, for all creation.”

~Pope Francis

I came across this quote recently and had to search for the paper I had written it on this morning in celebration of Pope Francis’ historic visit to the United States.  Welcome Pope Francis!

Do you know the name of this style of cardmaking?  It is my favorite and I’ve recently been studying it over at Cards by Sylvia.  This is as close as I could get to one of her cards…I didn’t have all the stamps that she used.  For this I used Work of Art and En Francais for the background stamps, Vintage Leaves for the leaves, An Open Heart for the bird and Butterfly Basics for the postal stamp.  Ink colors are Pool Party, Pear Pizzaz, Hello Honey, Tangelo Twist and Early Espresso.  I used a blender pen to color the bird with Hello Honey and Soft Suede inks.   I’m hoping it is a sparrow because Joseph used this card to write a thank you to the waitress we had at the Stone Sparrow Café, a sweet little restaurant in Veazie (Maine) that seats just 18 people.  Joseph and I went there last week as part of a reading lesson.  He read the entire menu to me, front and back.  I was so proud of him!  And here I would like to welcome Stamper Dog to our blogging family.  Stamper Dog, Joseph is our 19 year old son, born with Down’s Syndrome.  I am homeschooling him for his 5th year of high school.  He’s awesome! : ) P.S.  The new Writing Notes Background Stamp was used to make the notebook paper on the inside of the card.

Stone SparrowHomeSchoolUMO 012

2 thoughts on “What Style Is This?

  1. Dawn this card and Joseph’s note is great. Good Job! I’m going to email you a photo of a card I made, with Pope Francis in mind.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

