Acorny #GDP010

“…And merry when the great winds sing, through autumn’s woodlands brown.”

~William Hewitt

Brian King commented that this week’s design over at the Global Design Project was a simple one, and he was right.  I took one look at it and thought “acorn!”  I knew I wanted to showcase an acorn from the new “Acorny Thank You” stamp set.  Then I looked through my small collection of Thanksgiving stamps and saw the background stamp in “Truly Grateful.”  I thought I’d use some dots for an embossing folder to compliment the dots on the acorn, but then I saw the Arrows Embossing folder and decided it would compliment the grain in the background stamp on the little squares.  Since I didn’t have time to play around with colors, I decided to go with a monochromatic color scheme with Tip Top Taupe, Sahara Sand and Early Espresso.  Great fun as always over at http://www.global-design-project.com/  Hope to see you over there!  Here is my card for #GDP010:

001

19 thoughts on “Acorny #GDP010

  1. Wonderful Card! I particularly love the embossing folder in the background monochromatic colour choice. Thank you so much for playing along with this week’s Global Design Project challenge!

  2. Dawn – this wood panel stamp from Truly Grateful is a perfect image for these panels. I love how you’ve used them to accent the grateful acorn. Such a pretty card – glad you found the sketch as simple and easy as I did. 🙂 Thank you for playing along with this week’s sketch challenge for the Global Design Project!

  3. While monochromatic, this card is striking none the less. I love how the embossed background mimics the woodgrain squares – nice touch! Thanks for playing with us at Global Design Project this week.

  4. Another beautiful card, Dawn. I love the neutral shades with just enough contrast to easily see the inspirational sketch. Thanks for playing with us at Global Design Project.

  5. Congratulations on your selection as a winner at this week’s Global Design Project, Dawn. This project is so beautiful, and I’m so happy you shared with us.

Leave a Reply

