Sideline cards

Sideline Thanksgiving Card 003

“The great work of living is living with others.”

~from the film “Desperate Crossing”

One of our Thanksgiving traditions is to watch the documentary film “Desperate Crossing”.  This quote comes from the final words in the film…”the Indians taught the Pilgrims that the great work of living is living with others.  That is the true importance of the Pilgrim story.”  The narrator then goes on to tell what happened to each character and he says that William Bradford, governor of Plymouth colony, and Massasoit, Leader of the Wampanoag Indians when the Pilgrims arrived, kept peace between them for the rest of their lives.  What came after is another story, but we had a good beginning.  Interesting stuff!

These are my Thanksgiving cards for my “sideline” (formerly known as “downline”, but I never cared for that term!)    Yesterday I read the term “sideline” on Debbie Henderson’s blog, and I’ve adopted it.  Thanks Debbie!

I made this card back in August, inspired by either Leena Gersa or Understand Blue (funny funny lady, I don’t even know her name even though I read her blog!), and just love it. (I went back on their blogs to try to find the original card, but couldn’t find it).  Her card had the leaf panel, I just added to it.   I sectioned off the card with Frog Tape of all things, then sponged Marina Mist onto the rectangle.  Then I stamped with the “En Francais” background stamp, then heat embossed the three “Vintage Leaves” with white embossing powder.  I then sponged Pear Pizzaz and Cajun Craze over the leaves.  The postmark stamp and the “dotted line” are from the “Butterfly Basics” stamp set, and the sentiment is from the “For All Things” stamp set.  The first card I made with Cajun Craze candy dots, but after running out, I had to switch to homemade “dots” made with a hole punch.  : )  Now that I see the card up on the computer screen, I see that I should have put the dots up in the left hand top corner for balance.  So much to learn! : ) (Or, I may have been covering up a smudge, I can’t remember) : )  Have a great week-end, Dawn

Acadia National Park Trip 002

 

Leave a Reply

