Remarkable You

Christmas Projects 019

“It’s your birthday to-day, so why are we waiting?
Without further delay, Let’s start celebrating.”
~Norman Wesley Brooks

One of the stamping blogs that I follow is Brian King in Atlanta, Georgia, and today is his birthday.  Happy Birthday Brian, you are remarkable with all those layers on your cards and my go to color for birthday cards today is Tip Top Taupe! : )  Mention your go-to birthday card color on Brians blog today and you’ll be eligible to win all kinds of great blog candy!

Today’s  card is made with the Remarkable You stamp set and the “stained glass” technique.  It uses Stampin’ Up! Crystal Effects, which is sort of a liquid glue that dries clear.  The green stem and yellow in the middle of the lily are painted with Crystal Effects that I colored with a drop of refill ink.  Everything is done on the back side of a clear window sheet.  Once the green and yellow are dry, add more crystal effects and sprinkle it with Dazzling Diamonds.  The Deb Valder video that I watched recommended putting the dazzling diamonds in a little Pampered Chef shaker jar that has a strainer on the top, but I didn’t have that.  I can see how it would distribute the glitter more evenly, though.  This technique is very time consuming, but it is well worth it…it makes for a very striking card.  Deb’s card had beautiful black ribbon on it, but I didn’t have that either, so I used Baker’s Twine and some 1/8″ black ribbon and I like it just as well.

I made a set of four of these cards for gift giving…here’s a picture before I finished the top of the bag….

Christmas Projects 036

One thought on “Remarkable You

  1. Gorgeous, Dawn! What a great technique – I MUST try it. Thanks for the kind words and referrals to my blog. I really appreciate it and appreciate you.

Leave a Reply

