A Christmas Surprise

LL Bean Trip 050

“All that we behold is full of blessings.”

~William Wordsworth

I had the surprise of my life this month.  I found out that my nocturnal seizures of the past 40 years, that I have been medicated for, are caused by a food allergy to pumpkin, squash, cucumbers and melon (the cucurbit plant family).  At first we thought it was a theobromine problem (I drink a lot of tea), but thankfully, it wasn’t that.  It is very strange to go from a “sick” person with epilepsy to a very healthy person overnight, but I am thanking God that the mystery is solved.  All the symptoms make sense now, but I had never heard that food allergies can cause seizures until this past October when I started researching epilepsy.  It only took me 40 years, but better late than never!  I started keeping a food log, had a reaction, saw an allergist, and the rest is history.  It’s the best Christmas present I could have ever received!  I have so much to be thankful for, including great friends who made these beautiful cards for me this Christmas season…fun sled and skis from Terry, super-cute tree and matching wooden tree from Patti, little green elf card from Whitney, very merry tree from Nancy, clever tree drawn by Joseph and beautiful ornament card from Mimi.  I know the time and the love that goes into making home-made cards and I appreciate every single one of them, thank you my stamping friends.  Merry Christmas!

Cards from Friends 004 Cards from Friends 009 Cards from Friends 010 Cards from Friends 007Cards from Friends 006Cards from Friends 005

Cards from Friends 008

5 thoughts on “A Christmas Surprise

  1. What a great Christmas gift right!! I am so happy for you and that it was NOT the “tea”!!!
    My card was totally CASEd from Susan Itell.
    🙂

    • Me too, Nancy, although I don’t drink as much tea now. When I totally stopped drinking it for a month, I felt better, so now I drink just one cup a day! The card is so cute…love it! ❤

    • Thanks Terry. Yes, I especially love winter squash. I had two bowls of it for supper the last seizure I had. It’s worth it, though, to give it up…no more seizures, no more “low blood sugar” that was actually my blood pressure crashing, no more “brain fog”, no more swollen tongue (I always just thought my tongue was too big for my mouth!), no more dizziness, no more bowel problems, no more heart racing, no more hyperactivity on the inside while the world seems in slow motion, no more outrageous doctor, ambulance and hospital bills, and the list goes on…totally worth it to give it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

