Thanks A Bunch for #GDP030

“It takes a heap o’ living to make a house a home!”

~Edgar A. Guest

The day before Easter our oldest son, Jonathan, moved to his own home.  In his spare time he had been renovating a cute little house down the street from us for the past five years.  It was hard to have him leave, along with our granddog, but we’ve all adjusted.   Yesterday he had us all down for breakfast, which was amazing with Belgian waffles with strawberries and whipped cream, fresh fruit salad (with grapes in it!), bacon, cinnamon rolls, strawberry smoothies, juice and hot tea  It was an over the top delicious and memorable meal so when the Global Design Project sketch came out this morning over at http://global-design-project.com/, I knew I wanted to make a thank you card for him.  (I tried to add a picture of Jonathan cooking, but it wouldn’t load!)

Breakfast at Jonathan's 015

This sentiment from the Me=Grateful Stamp Set was just perfect!

Breakfast at Jonathan's 013

I had a little trouble deciding on grape colors for the image and sentiment from the Market Fresh stamp set.  I used Wisteria Wonder and Blackberry Bliss the first time around.

Redo 002

Redo 001

The second (and third) time around, I used just Blackberry Bliss ink with a blender pen.  I laid them over the top of the first image to see what looked best, and I think the original is the keeper for a “vintage” look.  For the background, I always wanted to try the Ann Schach technique of scoring with the diagonal plate on the scoring tool, with her signature pearl accents.  I used a Gorgeous Grunge stamp with Crumb Cake Ink to add the “splatters” before scoring.  The Farmers Market Designer Series Paper is used for the background stripe.  The bit of lace is the Sahara Sand Lace Trim.  Thanks a Bunch Jonathan, and thanks a bunch to the Global Design Project for another great sketch challenge!

11 thoughts on “Thanks A Bunch for #GDP030

  1. Breakfast sounds amazing! You sure have raised an amazing son…(in fact…all 3 of them are amazing) Love the card…and the vintage look!!

  2. Love this card Dawn! I love the cross-hatch and pearls and I see another reason to purchase the “Grunge” stamp set.
    🙂

  3. Oh my, this is one gorgeous creation Dawn! I love the colours but it’s the perfect accessories that make it. That piece of lace trim and the tiny pearls – perfection! Thanks so much for joining in with this week’s Global Design Project challenge!

  4. Great card, loooove it. It reminds me, to use my stampset. When I look at your card, it reminds me to our wonderful familytrip to the US last year and the many fruit stalls at the roads in California.
    Thank´s for playing with us this week,
    Vielen Dank, daß Du bei uns diese Woche mitgemacht hast.
    LG / Hugs Tanja

    • Thanks Brian! I just noticed I lost some pearls before I took a picture of the card. It’s been too busy…getting ready for the Bangor Garden Show this weekend…big doings! ❤

Leave a Reply

