Lenten Card for As You See It Challenge #195

 

“Lent is a time for greater love.”

~Mother Teresa of Calcutta

Lent begins in just two days, on Ash Wednesday.  We’ve been planning the things we are going to give up as we go “into the desert” for 40 days, as well as things we are going to do.  I found a great planning sheet to help plan one cleaning project a day so that the whole house is clean for Easter.  If you need it, I can email it to you!

This card was designed with a sketch from the “As You See It” Challenge at http://www.asyouseeitchallenge.com.  I was shooting for a clean and simple card, but ended up using alot of different sets…the Rectangle Stitched Framelits Dies, the Large Letters Framelits Dies, the old Crosses of Hope Stamp Set, the Labeler Alphabet Stamp Set, the Burlap Background Stamp and the Gorgeous Grunge Stamp Set.  This is the inside of the card:

And here is the sketch I used to design the card:

 

Yesterday my Scout Troop burned last year’s palms from the families of the six churches in our parish.  The ashes from the palms will be used on Ash Wednesday at the same six churches.  Here’s a few of the Scouts…

Hope you have a fruitful Lent, if it is part of your faith tradition.

Peace from snowy Maine!

Dawn

13 thoughts on “Lenten Card for As You See It Challenge #195

  1. Oh, what a beauty! I adore this card. Our church hosts a pan-cake Mardi Gras dinner and collects the old palm then.
    Have a blessed day.

  2. Hi Dawn! I love your card. I always especially enjoy the sayings you post under your picture. Quite inspirational.

    I am interested in the cleaning list for lent you mentioned. For the past 2 years, I have prayed for different people each day. Sometimes I send a card to the specific person.

    Thank you for sharing your love for card making.

    • Hi Kim! I just tried to share the cleaning list with someone else and found out that we’re asked not to share it, but to direct others to the website. It’s on a website called “Catholic Icing” and it’s part of a free pack for subscribers called “Lenten Planning Pages.” Sorry for the confusion!

  3. Dawn, you’ve done a beautiful job with your Lent card. I love the way the t is the cross. Your background looks great and is also significant! Thanks for joining us at As You See It Challenges.

  4. This is just beautiful….I think you should FRAME it as a work of art! The colors are soft and soothing and a wonderful reminder of what the season represents. I’ve never heard of burning the palms to use for Ash Wednesday…a thoughtful significance. Thanks for playing with As You See It this week!

Leave a comment