#AYSI171

“I wish that for every extra candle on your cake, you receive an extra reason to smile.”

~Unknown

I had quite the fun surprise when I learned that I was the “Featured Artist of the Week” over at the “As You See It” challenge last week!  Thank you to the team for voting for my card.  xoxo

“And our Featured Artist is: Dawn MacKay”

“Dawn’s beautiful card was layer after layer of loveliness! She had everything including colour, texture and gorgeous design elements in her effective entry! The design team loved the whole mix and especially the vertical elements, combining Gorgeous Grunge with Timeless Textures! “

That is just so fun, thanks again “As You See It” team!  : )

This week the challenge at “As You See It” is a Collection Challenge calling for “Bits and Pieces” of all the following elements:

My rainbow is on the cake and candles, which was stamped with “Embellished Events”, the very first stamp set I ever bought. : )  The stamp did alot of gymnastics as I bent back each section to ink it up with ink pads!  The confetti behind the candle flames (which are the stars) is from the Sprinkles of Life stamp set.  The letters are made with the Bigz Alphabet Typeset which I haven’t used for years and was glad to have the opportunity to use it again!  Hope you can play along at http://www.asyouseeitchallenge.com

Here we go again with another northeaster!  More stamping time, and more outdoor snow time.  This past weekend we took our Boy Scout troop snowshoeing at the Outdoor Center at Sugarloaf Mountain in Western Maine.   It snowed the whole day and we had a fantastic time!  One in our group is a forester and he showed us how to harvest chaga from a birch tree.  We made some tea with it and it was very sweet and mild, not what I had expected.  It’s always an adventure with the Scouts. : )

 

 

8 thoughts on “#AYSI171

  1. It’s great to see you back with us, especially with a beauty like this! Dawn, I think you have aced the recipe challenge. You’ve included all the elements and created an exciting, vibrant card. Great design. Thanks for playing with us again at As You See It.

  2. Hi Jan in New Zealand! Thank you for your kind comments. We are having a huge snowstorm here in Maine so I’m reaching for bright colors as a reminder that spring is coming! 🙂 I really liked how you put your rainbow behind your punched out stars. ❤

    • Hi Brian! I just thought that stamp set was the cat’s meow when I bought it…it covers so many different occasions…it definitely worked for this card but it was hard to ink the different colors with ink pads (don’t have the markers). 🙂 Yes, we do have some great adventures with my Boy Scout Troop! ❤

  3. What a fun creation and a great way to utilize those letters and stamps! So happy you shared it with us at AYSI! Sounds like you had fun with the Scouts, too! The most amazing thing about your picture is that you have NO GLOVES on your hands!! Brrrr!

    • Thanks LeAnne, it was fun, and I ended up adding some little rhinestones on the stars to add more sparkle for a little niece of ours! Oh, I had gloves and a hat on, it snowed all day, but I would get hot from snowshoeing and take them off for awhile! 🙂

Leave a comment